The Grotto's Famous History
1800’s – Down by The Bay
In the mid to late 1800’s during the Gold Rush era a large, primarily Italian population immigrated to what’s known today as San Francisco’s North Beach neighborhood. Near by they established a fishing community that emulated that of their homeland and thus Fisherman’s Wharf began to form.
1932 – Fisherman’s Delight
From the early days of the Wharf the Geraldi family, originally from Sicily, sold their fresh catch every morning, 7 days a week, to locals, beginning a family tradition that would continue strong for 85 years.
1935 – 1st. Restaurant on the Scene
In 1935 Michael Geraldi Jr. converted their simple crab stall on Taylor St. into the first full service seafood restaurant at Stall Number 9 on the Wharf and named it Fishermen’s Grotto in honor of the fishermen themselves.
Early 1900’s & Beyond – A San Francisco Institution
Three generations of Geraldi’s have worked at No. 9 Fishermen’s Grotto over the years. The family was always very involved in every aspect of their restaurant. One of the brothers caught the fish, others prepared it and ran the restaurant, while Cookie Geraldi, one of the Geraldi sisters, greeted the customers.
1954 – Iconic Landscape
The historic Fishermen’s Grotto sign that was originally added to the façade around the mid 1950s is still a staple of the Fisherman’s Wharf skyline. Today, the original building, built in 1935, still stands proud and continues to serve the locals and tourists that pass through its doors.
Present Day – Continuing the Legacy
Working very closely with the Fisherman’s Wharf’s Historical Society and the City of San Francisco, Fisherman’s Grotto received a facelift. The remodel updated and modernized features inside while staying as true as possible to the original restaurant.